The Best Part

14 07 2012

Psalms 119:124-125 Deal with Your servant according to Your lovingkindness And teach me Your statutes.  I am Your servant; give me understanding, that I may know Your testimonies.

The servant whose Master loves him is a conscientious student of all that pleases Him.

2 Corinthians 5:14 For the love of Christ controls us…

 All the year round, every hour of every day, God is richly blessing us; both when we sleep and when we wake, his mercy waits upon us. The sun may leave off shining, but our God will never cease to cheer his children with his love. Like a river, his lovingkindness is always flowing with a fulness inexhaustible as his own nature, which is its source. Like the atmosphere which always surrounds the earth, and is always ready to support the life of man, the benevolence of God surrounds all his creatures; in it, as in their element, they live, and move, and have their being. Yet as the sun on summer days appears to gladden us with beams more warm and bright than at other times, and as rivers are at certain seasons swollen with the rain, and as the atmosphere itself on occasions is fraught with more fresh, more bracing, or more balmy influences than heretofore, so is it with the mercy of God; it hath its golden hours, its days of overflow, when the Lord magnifies his grace and lifteth high his love before the sons of men. –C.H. Spurgeon

The Apostle Peter had a great love for Jesus, declaring that he would follow Him even to the death.  That love got him as far as a fire pit outside the place where Jesus was questioned.  (Matthew 26:33-34, 75)  The Apostle John understood the great love Jesus had for him.  That Love took him alongside Jesus all the way to the foot of the cross, even through the threat of personal danger.  (John 20:2, 21:7, 21:20, and 19:25-26)

1 John 4:19 We love, because He first loved us.

Let us come long and often back to the Love that motivates us, inspires us, teaches us, empowers us, and keeps us.

 “By singleness of heart you will escape much of the complexities that generate confusing and anxiety.  Keep your mind at rest, and let worship be your supreme occupation.  This you can never over do.

Seek My face, and seek My counsel:  But as you do so, bring Me first your love, and as you experience My help in daily living, come back again to me with your gratitude and praise.

I do not ask of you great achievements, but great devotion.  I do not require lavish gifts, but am jealous of Your praise.” — F. J. Roberts

Lord, do to me what You know is best for me, because You love me and care for me.  Thank You for Your promise in Romans 8:28 that ALL things work to my good because I have a relationship with You.  Surely You are a Great God of Grace, for who am I that You’d even think of me.  I am Your servant and I want to sit at Your feet as Mary did to learn from You, to receive the Best Part and ALL that You have for me. (Luke 10:38-42)   Take my head in Your hands, O Lord, when I get distracted and draw it back to Yours until You are all I see.  May I know, understand, and live in Your love forever.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment